log in or out bobcat tigers wolves bears webelosI webelosII
Username: Password: login
webelos handbook

Webelos I Den

Den Information

Den Leader: Matt Carter

Please log in by clicking on the black-and-white Cub Scouts Badge at the top of the page to see Den events and meeting dates.

Webelos I Information

As with all Cub Scout ranks, you must first earn the Bobcat Badge to be eligible to work for this award. Also, your Webelos Den Leader will now sign off your activities (your parent or guardian does not sign off the activities as they did when you were a Wolf or Bear).

Webelos Scout Requirements

  1. Have an adult member of your family read the Webelos Scout Parent Guide that comes with the book (see pages 444-460) and sign it.
  2. Be an active member of your Webelos den for 3 months (Active means having good attendance, paying den dues, and working on den projects).
  3. Know and explain the meaning of the Webelos badge.
  4. Point out the three special parts of the Webelos Scout uniform. Tell when to wear the uniform and when not to wear it.
  5. Earn the Fitness activity badge and two other activity badges from different activity badge groups.
  6. Plan and lead a flag ceremony in your den.
  7. Show that you know and understand the requirements to be a Boy Scout.
  8. Understand and intend to live by the
    1. Scout Oath
    2. Scout Law
    3. Scout motto
    4. Scout slogan
  9. Know the following and when to use them
    1. Scout salute
    2. Scout sign
    3. Scout handshake
  10. Understand and agree to follow the Outdoor Code.
  11. Either
    1. Earn the religious emblem of your faith
      • If you earned your faith's religious emblem when you were a Wolf or Bear Cub Scout, you must do two of the other religious requirements listed under (b). Webelos Emblems are listed on pages 434-435 in your handbook.
      • Note: Some faiths have more than one emblem available to Cub Scouts and Webelos Scouts. If you earned a lower level religious emblem of your faith as a Tiger Cub, Wolf, or Bear Cub Scout, you may earn the higher level emblem as a Webelos Scout to meet this requirement.
      • Completion of requirement (b) does not qualify a youth to receive the religious emblem of his faith.
    2. Do two of these
      • Attend the church, synagogue, mosque, or other religious organization of your choice, talk with your religious leader about your beliefs, and tell your family and Webelos den leader about what you learned.
      • Tell how your religious beliefs fit in with the Scout Oath and Scout Law. Discuss this with your family and Webelos den leader: What character-building traits do your beliefs and the Scout Oath and Scout Law have in common?
      • With your religious leader, discuss and write down two things you think will help you draw nearer to God. Do these things. Pray to God or meditate reverently each day as taught by your family, and by your church, synagogue, or religious group. Do this for at least one month.
      • Under the direction of your religious leader, do an act of service for someone else. Talk about your service with your family and Webelos den leader. Tell them how it made you feel.
      • List at least two ways you believe you have lived according to your religious beliefs.

Compass Points


After you've earned the Webelos badge, you can earn the compass points emblem. It is awarded after you earn seven activity badges, four more in addition to the three you earned for the Webelos badge. Wear your compass points emblem attached to the button on the right pocket of the Webelos uniform shirt.

After you earn the compass points emblem, you'll receive a metal compass point for each four additional activity badges you earn. Pin these compass points on the emblem in the "E," "W," or "S" positions, in any order you choose. You can earn the emblem and all three compass points by completing 19 activity badges, including the three required for the Webelos Badge.